The Grange Golf Club is a private members club. Visitors from Interstate or Overseas are welcome during certain periods of the week. Such visitors will need to be members of a recognised golf club, with a current membership identification card or a letter of introduction from the home club. Contact Planet Golf for assistance with tee times.
With golf clubs at Kooyonga, Royal Adelaide and Glenelg establishing an elite Adelaide Sandbelt, a small group of passionate golfers, mostly from working class backgrounds, got together in 1926 to form the city’s final ‘big four’ club, The Grange. They initially leased a 120-acre parcel of small reddish sand mounds known as ‘The Pinery’ which were covered in shrubs and littered with Pine trees. The site was perfectly situated just a few hundred metres from Royal Adelaide and less than a kilometre from the banks of the Port River.
By the 1950’s the club had enjoyed rapid growth and with a thriving membership and modern clubhouse decided to commission Victorian Vern Morcom to consult on major changes to the existing course. His task was to toughen up the test and over a period of nine years he built eighteen new tees, seventeen new greens and shaped considerable areas of new fairway. The full upgrade was completed in 1965. During these development years the club was also busy securing the use of an adjacent parcel of land, which in 1967 opened as the East course, also designed by Morcom.
The Grange has Adelaide’s most distinctive Parkland feel with holes defined by rows of tall Pines. The superior West course includes a series of excellent closing par four’s, the 17th especially enjoyable as it beautifully follows the natural movement of the land and sweeps through a chute of Pines first to the right and then slightly uphill. The course was extensively redesigned by Michael Clayton in 2008, his changes primarily to greens and bunkers though the odd shifted tee and target has helped improve the experience.